How to Remove VPN from iPhone?

VPN or Virtual Private Network is a technology that helps users protect their identity when browsing over the internet. Whether the user is connected to a public Wi-Fi, unsecured network, or mobile network, a VPN makes their device/identity completely anonymous.

VPNs generally make this happen via solid encryptions. Mostly use 256-bit AES encryption, which is military-grade encryption and is still uncrackable. Also, VPNs change the user’s location by connecting them to a remote server placed in a region away from their original location.

In the start, VPNs were generally integrated with computers, however with the rise in technology; they are now available in application format for android, iOS, and other IoT (Internet of Things). That’s why you are here, and this is what we are going to discuss.

You might need to update your iOS, solve some network issues, or install a new software application on your device; that’s why you are looking to remove VPN from your iPhone. You can easily remove VPN from iPhone or iPad by one of the following two methods:

Uninstall the VPN Application

Almost all top VPN companies have their official VPN applications available on App Store or Play Store. You can easily download it from there and install it.

When it comes to removing that VPN app from your iPhone, you can simply uninstall the app. Follow the below-mentioned steps one by one:

  1. Locate the app.
  2. Press and hold down on the VPN application icon until all of the items start to ‘wobble.’
  3. A small X will appear at the top right corner of the app.
  4. Tap that X and press delete.
  5. Your VPN will be removed from your iPhone.

Delete the VPN Profile

If you have created a VPN profile in your iPhone, you can delete that profile to remove any traces of VPN from your device. Here’s how you can do it:

  1. Go to Menu and open Settings.
  2. Navigate to General and then Profile.
  3. Your VPN profile will be displayed there.
  4. Press the ‘Delete Profile’ button in red color.
  5. Your VPN profile will be deleted successfully.

Deleting the Wrong VPN Profile

What if you deleted the wrong VPN profile? A deleted VPN profile cannot be recovered, but this does not mean that it’s the end of the world.

Download a VPN application like PureVPN, and install it. Once the app is up and running, connect the VPN to your network. The app will automatically generate all the VPN profiles which you had lost earlier and will start functioning.

PureVPN

VPN Profiles Installed on your Apple Device

To view the installed VPN profiles on your iOS device, go to Settings > VPN. All of the VPN profiles will be visible in that VPN section. There are two types of VPN profiles:

  • VPN Configurations
  • Personal VPN

The ‘VPN Configurations’ contains the VPN config files that provide custom VPN tunnel implementation like OpenVPN or WireGuard.

Whereas, ‘Personal VPN’ section consists of the built-in iOS VPN tunneling protocol implementations like IPSec, IKEv2, PPTP, etc.

Techninja Pro

Be the first to read about the recent tech news, reviews, and problem-solving DIYs by Signing Up with us Today!

Techninja Pro
Techninja PRO Newsletter

Be the first to read about the recent tech news, reviews, and problem-solving DIYs by Signing Up with us Today!

Our Newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the latest tech reviews, tech-guides and deals, delivered straight to your inbox.

About cookies on this site

We use cookies to collect and analyse information on site performance and usage, to provide social media features and to enhance and customise content and advertisements.Learn more